Two Eyed Seeing: OJIBWE Astronomy & NASA Moon 2 Mars


Date:Friday, Oct. 23, 2020
Time: 10AM -11AM CDT, 8AM PT, 11AM ET


Register!  

Boozhoo, Aaniin! Join us for a 60 m live show featuring the Native Skywatchers - Ojibwe Team: Carl Gawboy (elder), William Wilson (elder), Jeffrey Tibbetts, Jim Knutson-Kolodzne, and Annette S. Lee. Weaving together Indigenous Ojibwe Astronomy & NASA science this event will offer insights from both world-views with focus on the Moon. 

Topics include: Ojibwe Fall constellations like the Mooz, teachings related to Mikinaak (Snapping Turtle)...Maingan Mikan (the Wolves Path), Bugonagiizhig (Hole in the Sky), the soundscapes of fall, and more! 

Educator Leads and Partnering Schools: Lindsey Markwardt, Indian Education Home School Liason, grades 5-12,  the Alternative School, Cloquet, MN Cloquet Area Alternative Education Program (CAAEP),  Melissa Peterson M. Ed, 5th Grade Teacher K-5 Science Coordinator, North Star Academy Duluth Edison Charter School, Duluth, MN, and Genie Turner, 5th & 6th grade, Nett Lake Elementary School, Nett Lake, MN.   

 Ojibwe Months/Moons-Giizis:
 September Waatebagaa-giizis - Leaves Changing Color Moon 
 October Binaakwii-giizis  - Falling Leaves Moon 
 November Gashkadino-giizis  - Freezing Moon

Reference - Lee, Annette S., William Wilson, Jeffrey Tibbetts, and Carl Gawboy. Ojibwe Star Map Constellation Guidebook: An Introduction to Ojibwe Star Knowledge. Minneapolis, Minnesota: Native Skywatchers Press, 2014.)
Educator Materials
  • Star Map of Ojibwe Fall Constellations  |  View
  • Booklet featuring Ojibwe Astronomy & NASA Moon 2 Mars
  • Classroom Ready Worksheet


  •  

 

Date: Friday, 10/23/2020

Time: 10:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Official Website

UPCOMING EVENTS