ASP Prizewinners Announced

Dan Kaminsky in action! Courtesy TSA
The Las Cumbres Amateur Outreach Award for outstanding outreach by an amateur astronomer to children and the public has been awarded to Dan Kaminsky of the TriState Astronomers (TSA) of Hagerstown, MD. Beyond managing club outreach activities that involve more than 5,000 participants each year, Kaminsky’s commitment to amateur astronomy is demonstrated by his work organizing star parties for Boy Scout and Girl Scout troops, public libraries, science centers, church groups, public parks systems, and community service nonprofits. He also provides outreach assistance to individual teachers and schools in the county that request help with star parties for their students. He is unwaveringly enthusiastic, friendly, and knowledgeable, and his efforts have enlightened the public and brought new faces to the community of amateur astronomers.

Other ASP award winners and their awards are:

Bruce Gold Medal: Dr. Ken Kellermann of NRAO for his lifetime achievements in founding radio astronomy as a major branch of global astronomy, for contributing to the development of modern cosmology, and for his efforts inventing Very Long Baseline Interferometry (VLBI).
Maria and Eric Muhlmann Award for important research results based upon development of groundbreaking instruments and techniques to Dr. Harland Epps, Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics at the Lick Observatories.
Robert J. Trumpler Award for a recent Ph.D. thesis considered unusually important to astronomy to Dr. Brendan Bowler.
Richard H. Emmons Award for excellence in teaching college-level astronomy to non-science majors to Dr. Laurence Marschall from Gettysburg College.
Thomas J. Brennan Award for exceptional achievement relating to the teaching of astronomy at the high school level to Vivian Hoette.
Klumpke-Roberts Award for outstanding contributions to the public understanding and appreciation of astronomy to Dennis Schatz, Senior Advisor and former Senior Vice President of Pacific Science Center.
Amateur Achievement Award recognizes significant observational or technical achievements by an amateur astronomer to Rod Stubbings.
For more information on both the awards, the award winners, and to reserve a spot at the upcoming awards dinner, check out the ASP's official awards page here:

Join our vibrant stargazing community!
We invite you to join the NASA Night Sky Network stargazing community on Facebook and Twitter for sky charts, beautiful images, and lively conversation. 
Distant Suns, your personal guide to the cosmos, lists Night Sky Network astronomy club star parties, safe solar gazing events, and lectures in the main navigation bar. Distant Suns is available on iPhone, iPad, Kindle, and NOOK.



SkySafari, a powerful planetarium that fits in your pocket, lists Night Sky Network astronomy club star parties, safe solar gazing events, and lectures in the help menu. SkySafari is available for Android and the iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch.

ASP logo

The NASA Night Sky Network is managed by the Astronomical Society of the Pacific.
The ASP is a 501c3 nonprofit organization that advances science literacy through astronomy. Your contribution is tax-deductible as provided by law.